A captivating image, Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity feature ‘Jesus Knocking at the Door’, a stained glass window from Holy Name of Mary Cathedral, Sault Ste. Marie, MI. We pray for all young people God is calling to serve the Church whether as a lay person, priest or consecrated religious. May they open the doors of their hearts and be generous in their ‘yes’ to God.
Jesuits built Holy Name of Mary Pro Cathedral in 1668. In 1857, Venerable Irenaeus Frederic Baraga became the first bishop of the Diocese of Sault Ste. Marie and this Church became the diocesan cathedral. In 1865, the Diocese of Sault Ste. Marie became the Diocese of Marquette and St. Peter Cathedral in Marquette became the diocesan cathedral.
The present church, the fifth for the Parish, was erected in 1881. Canadian architect Joseph Connolly designed it Gothic Revival style. Franciscan Sisters recently took a pilgrimage to see this window when visiting students at Lake Superior State Newman Center.